The Hispanic American Historical Review is published quarterly by Duke University Press in cooperation with the Conference on Latin American History and the American Historical Association.

Founded in 1918 at Duke University, HAHR pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States. Today it maintains a distinguished tradition of publishing vital work across thematic, chronological, regional, and methodological specializations. It is generally recognized as the preeminent journal in the field of Latin American history.

HAHR publishes peer-reviewed articles featuring original, innovative research and pathbreaking analysis. Each issue also contains a comprehensive book review section, which provides commentary on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture. The journal periodically publishes special features, such as forums and special issues.

Please look to the Multimedia page of this website for further information, author interviews, and thematic collections of articles on Latin American and Caribbean history.


Martha Few, Pennsylvania State University
Zachary Morgan, Pennsylvania State University
Matthew Restall, Pennsylvania State University
Amara Solari, Pennsylvania State University

David Carey Jr., Loyola University Maryland
Guadalupe García, Tulane University
Christopher Heaney, Pennsylvania State University
John Ochoa, Pennsylvania State University
Richard Stoller, Pennsylvania State University
Adam Warren, University of Washington

Tatiana Seijas, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey
James Woodard, Montclair State University

Sean Mannion

Alex Borucki, University of California, Irvine (2023)
Mark Carey, University of Oregon (2021)
Isabella Cosse, Universidad de Buenos Aires (2021)
Benjamin A. Cowan, University of California, San Diego (2023)
Surekha Davies, Utrecht University (2023)
Christine Ehrick, University of Louisville (2022)
Ada Ferrer, New York University (2024)
Gisela Fosado, Representative of Duke University Press
Marixa Lasso, Universidad Nacional de Colombia (2023)
Claudia Leal, Universidad de los Andes (2021)
Laura E. Matthew, Marquette University (2023)
Michelle McKinley, University of Oregon (2024)
Eden Medina, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2022)
Bianca Premo, Florida International University, Representative of CLAH (2023)
Charles Walker, University of California, Davis (2023)
Kirsten Weld, Harvard University (2023)
Mikael Wolfe, Stanford University (2022)
Yanna Yannakakis, Emory University (2022)


Alberto Santiago Martinez: Project Leader, Site Design, Programming

Photo Credits: Fototeca Nacional del INAH.  Núm. Inv. 428058.  “Indigenas rodean avioneta al pie de la pirámide del sol”